You are heading home after a night spent partying with friends and are reasonably drunk and are found behind the wheel by law enforcement, you can expect a hefty fine and even jail time for driving while intoxicated (DUI) However, very few people actually know the repercussions of driving under the influence in Illinois.
DUI in Illinois
According to Illinois law, the following are ways a person can be considered driving under the influence:
- Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8 or higher
- Driving while you are under the influence of drugs, which prevent you from driving safely.
- Driving while under the influence of several intoxicating substances making you a hazard on the road.
- If there are indications in your blood, urine and breathe that you have consumed an intoxicating substance illegally.
- That there are traces of cannabis or THC in your blood.
Criminal Penalties for a DUI
Penalties for DUI in Illinois vary, depending on the circumstances of the arrest and conviction. These circumstances may include the driver’s age, the driver’s BAC level, whether the driver was transporting a child under age 16, whether the driver was driving the wrong way on a one-way road and whether the driver has previous DUI convictions. Any DUI offense resulting in felony charges is classified as Aggravated DUI.
The first DUI conviction is a class A misdemeanor in Illinois. If convicted, you will receive a minimum revocation of driving privileges for one year (two years if driver is under age 21) and suspension of vehicle registration.
A fine will set you back $2,500, which is the maximum amount. However, most first-time offenders must pay $500 if their BAC is 0.16 percent or higher and $1,000 if you have a passenger who is younger than 16 traveling with you in your vehicle.
If you also receive community service as part of your DUI sentence, you need to complete 100 hours as a first time offender. If you have a passenger younger than 16-year-old passenger traveling in your vehicle, you need to complete 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.
Unlike some states, Illinois does not have a ‘look back’ period. In other words, if you are convicted of a DUI and repeat the offense, it will be considered as a second DUI – one no matter how many years pass between it and the first conviction.
If you are looking for an attorney in Warrenville, Schaumburg or Naperville, Illinois who can defend you in your DUI case, get in touch with us at Covert Marrero Covert LLP today. Besides defending you in court, our attorneys can also help you secure a driving permit to replace the one that was confiscated. It will allow you to drive under special circumstance. Get in touch with us for a consultation today.