If your home is going into foreclosure in Illinois, it is understandable if you are stressed and unsure about the future. However, be aware that if you are behind on your mortgage payments in Illinois, the loan servicer will eventually start the foreclosure process by filing a lawsuit in court. However, it can take 12 to 15 months in Illinois to complete a foreclosure, so you may have time to work things out.
In this article, you will learn what to do if your property is going into foreclosure. If you need help, you can count on our foreclosure attorneys in Illinois at Covert Marrero Covert LLP to help.
Notice Of Breach
The lender is required to send you a breach letter at least 30 days before the foreclosure is filed. It must contain the total due to cure the default. If you cannot pay the accelerated debt, the foreclosure process begins.
When Can Foreclosure Start?
US law requires the loan servicer to wait 120 days after the last payment to start foreclosure proceedings. However, the process can start sooner if you have violated a due-on-sale clause or the loan servicer is part of a foreclosure action with another lienholder.
How To Reinstate The Mortgage Before Foreclosure Sale
Even if the foreclosure process has started, there are ways you can fix the situation. Reinstating means bringing the mortgage current when you pay the delinquent payments, including principal, interest, and late fees. Once you complete the reinstatement process, the foreclosure stops.
Illinois law states you can reinstate the loan within 90 days after you get a summons regarding the foreclosure. However, many mortgage companies will let you reinstate the loan if you do so at least a few days before the foreclosure sale. It is usually in the loan servicer’s interest to avoid foreclosures if possible.
Be Aware Of Deficiency Judgments After Foreclosure In Illinois
If your home is sold in a foreclosure sale, it may not produce enough money to pay off the full loan. The difference between what the home is sold for and the total debt is known as a deficiency balance. Illinois law allows the mortgage lender to obtain a personal judgment – a deficiency judgment – for the amount owed.
Foreclosure Sale And Eviction
In the State of Illinois, before the foreclosed home is sold, a sale notice has to be put in the newspaper for three weeks. You also must be notified by mail at least 10 days before the foreclosure sale.
Call Our Foreclosure Attorneys In Illinois Today
Illinois foreclosure laws are complex, and lenders and servicers may make errors or skip steps. If you believe your lender or mortgage loan servicer did not follow the foreclosure process correctly, you could have a case that makes the company restart the foreclosure process.
Contact our foreclosure attorneys in Illinois at Covert Marrero Covert LLP at (630) 717-2783 if you are facing foreclosure. We may be able to help to save your home and provide other legal options available to Illinois residents.